BRONCOFACTS Trail guide · 1966–present

Model year · Sixth Generation

2027 Bronco

RTR and Filson expand the sixth generation

Ford has announced two distinct 2027 Broncos: desert-focused RTR and premium outdoor-focused Filson. Final lineup, pricing and configuration data remain pending.

Announced / preliminary: Ford has announced this model year, but final factory ordering data may still change.

Ford has announced Bronco RTR and Bronco Filson for 2027, but it has not published a complete U.S. 2027 order guide or technical specification sheet. This page deliberately separates confirmed announcements from data that has not yet been published.

RTR is a four-door, Big Bend-based high-speed off-road model developed with RTR Vehicles, Vaughn Gittin Jr. and Loren Healy. Filson uses Raptor's 3.0-liter EcoBoost V6 as the basis for a premium outdoors-focused Bronco. Do not assume that every 2026 series, engine, paint or option carries into 2027.

Why it matters

The two 2027 announcements take the Bronco in different directions: RTR prioritizes accessible desert performance and Filson prioritizes durable premium utility, both with more specific engineering stories than a cosmetic special edition.

What this page covers

Market: United States announced full-size, body-on-frame Bronco information reviewed September 11, 2026. Final production specifications are not yet published.

Body styles: RTR: announced four-door; Filson: body style not stated in the reviewed announcement

What changed for this year

RTR announced
Ford announced a four-door 2027 Bronco RTR based on Big Bend, developed with RTR Vehicles, Vaughn Gittin Jr. and Loren Healy for high-speed off-road use. [1] [2]
Filson announced
Ford and outdoor outfitter Filson announced a premium Bronco Filson with a 3.0-liter EcoBoost V6, standard Sasquatch hardware and planned early-2027 showroom arrival. [3]
Complete lineup pending
Ford had not published a complete 2027 U.S. trim list or final order guide at review. The two announced additions do not prove that any 2026 model continues unchanged. [1] [3]

Models and trims

Bronco RTR
Announced as a Big Bend-based four-door specialty model. Ford says it uses a 2.3-liter EcoBoost and ten-speed automatic, 33-inch rugged-terrain tires and high-clearance suspension, with an available Sasquatch/HOSS 3.0 combination. [1] [2]
Bronco Filson
Announced as a premium Bronco with a 3.0-liter EcoBoost V6, standard Sasquatch package and application-specific tuning. Ford did not state a final body code, trim code or complete 2027 range. [3]
Identification
Final VIN, body, series and option codes are not published. Use the future window sticker and order guide rather than exterior appearance alone. [1] [3]

Engines and transmissions

RTR 2.3-liter EcoBoost
Ford announced the 2.3-liter EcoBoost and ten-speed automatic, Raptor-derived cooling and a software-operated anti-lag system. Exact 2027 output has not been published. [1]
Filson 3.0-liter EcoBoost V6
Ford announced a 3.0-liter EcoBoost V6 shared in concept with Bronco Raptor but refined with application-specific tuning. Exact 2027 horsepower and torque are not published. [3]
Fuel economy
No EPA 2027 Bronco configuration records were published at review. Do not copy a 2026 EPA value into either announced model. [1] [3] EPA values will be added only when configuration-specific government records appear.

Capability and specifications

RTR announced hardware
RTR's base configuration is announced with 33-inch rugged-terrain tires and high-clearance suspension; available Sasquatch adds 35-inch tires and HOSS 3.0 FOX internal-bypass dampers. [1] [2]
Filson announced hardware
Ford announced standard Sasquatch, electronic-locking front and rear differentials, FOX internal-bypass shocks, 35-inch rugged-terrain tires, Trail Turn Assist and Trail 1-Pedal Drive. [3]
Towing, payload and dimensions
Ford has not published final 2027 towing, payload, curb-weight, GVWR or dimension tables for RTR or Filson. [1] [3] Unpublished is not zero and must not be inferred from a 2026 Bronco.

Colors and interiors

RTR cabin and graphics
Ford announced RTR-specific Hyper Lime accents, topographic dashboard graphics, RTR-embossed seatbacks and an RTR welcome/startup screen. Final paint availability is pending. [4]
Filson cabin
Ford announced perforated quilted leather, durable woven fabric, leather-wrapped instrument panel and steering wheel, brass accents, ventilated front seats and heated rear seats. [3]
Filson colors
Ford named Field Green Metallic as Filson-exclusive and also announced Marsh Gray, Avalanche Gray, Desert Sand, Shadow Black and Oxford White. First Edition adds Iron Sands Copper Metallic. [3]

Options and packages

RTR Sasquatch/HOSS 3.0
Ford announced an available RTR combination of Sasquatch, 35-inch tires and HOSS 3.0 FOX internal-bypass dampers; order codes and prerequisites remain pending. [1] [2]
Filson First Edition
Ford announced Iron Sands Copper Metallic paint, a unique fender badge, serialized console badge and Filson-inspired cargo bags. Serialized does not establish a production limit. [3]
Final package catalog
No complete 2027 package/options catalog has been published. Confirm connectivity, roof, tow and accessory content on the eventual window sticker. [1] [3]

Safety and recalls

Safety and recalls pending production
No vehicle-specific 2027 recall conclusion is possible before customer production and filings. An absence of a model-year result is not evidence of zero recalls. [5] Future owners should use Ford and NHTSA VIN tools after delivery.
Announced driver support
Ford's RTR cabin announcement includes Ford Co-Pilot360, but a final feature list and equipment availability await the order guide. [4]

Owner and buyer notes

Treat announcements as intent
Confirm final engine output, axle ratio, suspension, tow hardware, payload, destination price and package terms on the future order guide and window sticker. [1] [3]
Do not infer Filson limits
A serialized Filson First Edition console badge does not prove a limited production quantity; Ford has not announced one. [3]
VIN recall check after delivery
Use NHTSA's VIN decoder and Ford's VIN recall lookup after production rather than relying on generic announced-model statements. [5] [6]

Stories from this year

Two collaborations, two jobs
Ford's RTR story centers on lower front-end mass, cooling and turbo response for desert running. Filson traces its working-gear theme to Ford and Filson's 2020 Wildland Fire Rig concept, not to firefighting hardware on the production model. [1] [3] [7]

Sources and footnotes

Bracketed references beside a fact lead to the document that supports it.

  1. Ford: 2027 Bronco RTR engineering announcement Manufacturer announcement
  2. Ford 2027 Bronco RTR consumer information Manufacturer consumer page
  3. Ford: Bronco Filson specifications and availability Manufacturer announcement
  4. Ford: 2027 Bronco RTR cabin details Manufacturer announcement
  5. NHTSA VIN Decoder Government VIN tool
  6. Ford owner recall lookup Manufacturer VIN recall lookup
  7. Ford and Filson collaboration announcement Manufacturer/partner announcement

See something missing or wrong? Send a correction or source.